Kolkata Metro

The Kolkata Metro or Calcutta Metro is a metro system serving the city of Kolkata and the districts of South 24 Parganas and North 24 Parganas in the Indian state of West Bengal.It is the first Underground metro railway system in India. The network consists of one operational line (Line 1) and one under construction (Line 2), with four further lines in various stages of planning. It was the first such form of transport in India, opening for commercial services in 1984. It is the 17th zone of the Indian Railways system. While considered revolutionary when opened, the system has been starved of investment in the decades since then and has been described by the Business Standard as “an exercise in antiquity”, with no significant technology upgrades since the 1970s.

In 2010, the Railway Ministry announced plans for the construction of five new metro lines and an extension of the existing North-Southcorridor. These new projects are:

  • Salt Lake City – Howrah Maidan
  • Joka – BBD Bagh
  • Noapara – Barasat via Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport
  • Baranagar – Barrackpore
  • New Garia – Airport
  • Extension of Line 1 from Dum Dum to Dakshineshwar via Noapara


Line First operational Last Extension Stations Length
Line 1 24 October 1984 10 July 2013 24 28.14 Noapara Kavi Subhash
Line 2 September 2015 12 14.67 Howrah Maidan Salt Lake Sector 5
Line 3 13 16.72 Joka Mahakaran(BBD BAG)
Line 4 9 18.50 Noapara Barasat
Line 5 11 10 Baranagar Barrackpore
Line 6 13 32 Kavi Subhash DumDum Airport Station
Total 82 120.03