Namma Metro also known as Bangalore Metro is the under-construction mass-transit rail system for the city of Bangalore, India.


The agency responsible for its implementation is the Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation Ltd (BMRCL). With nearly 70% of the work completed as of February 2010, the first stretch between Bayappanahalli to M.G.

Road is scheduled to open in December 2010.  The Phase 1 of the metro would in a great effect expected to reduce the traffic volume and tension in the areas like Majestic (KBS Bus stand & Bangalore Railway Station), Sampige Road, Hudson Circle & M.G.Road

1Although mass transit for Bangalore had been in consideration for over two decades, the final approval on a scheme that incorporated the expertise of Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) and the Indian Government-owned RITES infrastructure and transport consultancy did not come until April 2006. The rationale for the metro includes reduced journey times, cutting fuel use, accident reduction and lower pollution.

A detailed project report prepared by the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) and RITES envisaged a 33 km elevated and underground rail network with 32 stations for Phase I of the project. The proposed gauge was standard gauge unlike the broad gauge on the Delhi Metro network.

Construction work for Phase-1 of the project was scheduled to start in 2005 but was delayed by a February 2006 change of government in the state of Karnataka and continued debate over whether the project was financially feasible and appropriate for the city. Finally, on 25 April 2006 the Indian cabinet approved the project, which was then budgeted at more than Rs.5400 crore (about US$1.2 billion). In 2006, Navayuga Engineering was awarded the contract to construct Reach 1 on the East-West line.

The foundation stone for the Phase-1 construction was laid by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on June 24, 2006. Construction on Reach-1 of the project between MG Road and Baiyyappanahalli commenced in 2007 and work on Phase-1 of the project is scheduled to be completed by 2012. The first line is scheduled to open in December 2011.

In 2007, BMRCL announced that it would incorporate a northern extension (from Yeshwantpur to Hessarghatta Cross) and part of the southern extension (from RV Road to Puttenahalli) in Phase I, thus extending the length of Phase I network to about 42 km, with 40 stations. The objective of this was to connect the Metro to the Outer Ring Road at both ends, as also cover the industrial areas of Peenya in the North-West, thereby providing better connectivity and increasing ridership.[9] In October 2008, the Government of Karnataka approved this extension, which would cost an additional Rs.1592 crore.